For many psychology students, completing a degree has been followed by another question: “Which professional registration can I obtain?” RCI provides registration for specified rehabilitation professions, including Clinical Psychology. However, students from other branches of psychology have needed a clearer national framework connecting their qualifications with professional recognition.
The National Commission for Allied and Healthcare Professions (NCAHP), established under the NCAHP Act, 2021, helps address this gap. Its 2026 Registration Regulations set out qualifications, experience requirements and the process for registration. They give students, institutions and employers a common framework to refer to.
This is a welcome and significant step towards bringing greater regulation and clarity to the discipline of Psychology in India. The framework adopts a relatively comprehensive approach, recognising several important postgraduate Psychology pathways that have often remained outside mainstream discussion - such as the MA in Psychology (Psychosocial Clinical Studies) offered by AUD, Delhi, and the Advanced Diploma in Child Guidance and Counselling. Its provisions concerning recognition, renewal, and existing practitioners are also particularly important. While certain terms and provisions may still require further clarification, the framework provides a much stronger foundation for informed academic and career decision-making in Psychology.
Throughout this article, we refer to the Gazette’s printed page numbers and regulation numbers so that you can cross-check the information yourself. The main psychology entries appear on pages 82–90.
Psychology under NCAHP and RCI
NCAHP lists Psychologist under Category 7: Community Care, Behavioural Health Sciences and Other Professionals. The list includes several branches of psychology.
The note on page 90 excludes Clinical Psychologists eligible for RCI registration. Although the schedule also lists MA/MSc Clinical Psychology “not registered with RCI”, that entry must be read with this exclusion. NCAHP registration does not give a person the status of an RCI-registered Clinical Psychologist.
What if you hold another RCI-approved qualification? The note does not exclude every RCI category. For example, someone with the Advance Diploma in Child Guidance and Counselling may be considered under the relevant NCAHP entry if they meet all its conditions. RCI approval alone does not remove the PG or experience requirements, or guarantee dual registration.
Is your UG enough?
For a conventional BA/BSc in Psychology, having a graduation degree alone is not enough. The Gazette clearly mentions that:
"Candidates who have successfully completed programs of a minimum duration of three to four years of Under Graduation (UG) in Psychology/Applied Psychology and two Years of Post-Graduation (PG) in Psychology/Applied Psychology courses, bearing the qualification titles specified and experience in health settings as defined shall be eligible for regular registration under the Psychology Professional domain."
How B.Clin.Psy is different
The Rehabilitation Council of India (RCI) lists the four-year Bachelor in Clinical Psychology (B.Clin.Psy) programme. Its curriculum provides for registration in the Central Rehabilitation Register (CRR) as a “Clinical Assistant (Clinical Psychology)” — a category distinct from Clinical Psychologist. This qualification does not permit independent clinical practice.
This RCI registration is separate from registration under NCAHP. The NCAHP Gazette specifically excludes Clinical Psychologists eligible for RCI registration; it does not state that every RCI-registered category is excluded. However, this distinction does not automatically establish NCAHP eligibility for B.Clin.Psy graduates. Their eligibility must be assessed against NCAHP’s recognised qualifications and registration requirements.
What about distance degrees?
The listed psychology undergraduate, postgraduate and diploma qualifications specify regular mode. The Gazette does not expressly provide a registration route based on distance or online qualifications. Section 2(e) of the NCAHP Act, 2021 also refers to regular learning mode when defining an allied and healthcare qualification.
Students should therefore distinguish between academic recognition of a degree and eligibility for professional registration. A degree’s acceptance for academic purposes does not automatically establish eligibility to practise under NCAHP.
What has IGNOU stated?
IGNOU’s July 2025 Common Prospectus, page 71, includes a disclaimer for its MA Psychology programme. It highlights the NCAHP Act’s regular-mode requirement and advises students to read the Act before taking admission. The IGNOU degree has academic value but no true practice value.
Could the PhD entry provide a route for distance students?
The wording raises a question, but does not confirm eligibility. Page 88 lists full-time and part-time PhDs and requires a Master’s in Psychology/Applied Psychology from a recognised Indian university. However, this particular remark does not specify whether the preceding master’s degree must be completed through regular mode. Students with a distance PG can seek written clarification from NCAHP on whether their qualification, followed by a listed PhD, would meet the registration requirements. The omission should not be treated as an approved exception to the Act’s regular-mode requirement. A part-time PhD is also different from a distance PhD.
Before choosing a PhD for this purpose, obtain confirmation about your exact qualification combination. A PhD should not be presented as a guaranteed way to make a distance PG eligible for professional registration.
How the requirement applies to different students
| Your qualifications | What the Gazette supports |
|---|---|
| BA/BSc Psychology only | A conventional BA/BSc alone does not satisfy the accompanying UG-plus-PG conditions. Separate B.Psy/B.Psych entries should be assessed independently. |
| Regular BA/BSc Psychology and a listed regular MA/MSc | Considered for regular registration, subject to the applicable conditions, including the minimum two years of experience in health settings shown against the postgraduate entries. |
| Listed Advanced Diploma/PG Diploma along with a PG in Psychology | Considered for regular registration with an accompanying PG in Psychologyand minimum one year of experience in health settings, subject to the listed course duration, regular mode and recognition requirements. |
| Listed PhD in Psychology/Applied Psychology or related fields, completed full-time or part-time, with the required master’s degree | The PhD section requires a Master’s in Psychology/Applied Psychology from a recognised Indian university. The accompanying remark does not specify the master’s mode; acceptance of a distance PG should therefore be confirmed with NCAHP. |
| RCI-eligible Clinical Psychologist | Excluded from NCAHP registration by the specific note on page 90. |
How the registration process works
The usual route is one connected registration process: you apply to your State Council, and the registration details are then entered in the Central Register. It should not be understood as two unrelated qualifications or two separate training pathways.
- Check your eligibility. Match your qualification, study mode, duration and experience with the relevant Schedule I entry.
- Meet the examination condition. Until NCAHP specifies a separate exit examination, the recognised institution’s final qualifying examination counts under Regulation 4.
- Apply to the State Council in your state of residence using Form R-1 and pay the prescribed state fee. The regulations provide for online applications and payments.
- Complete document verification. The Council checks your qualifications and supporting records. Regulation 4 provides for acceptance or rejection within 30 working days.
- Receive registration and your UID. The usual framework requires your name in the State and Central Registers and a unique identification number. The State Council forwards registration details to NCAHP.
Where there is no functional State Council, Regulation 12 provides for direct registration with the Commission and a ₹2,000 fee. This is an administrative exception within the same framework. Check the current application arrangements with the responsible authority; the Gazette alone does not establish that every state’s portal is operational.
Keep your qualification certificates, identity documents, course and internship details, and evidence of experience ready. An application or preliminary enrolment acknowledgement is not the same as completed professional registration. Practice in another state requires compliance with the prescribed intimation procedure.
What counts as experience in a health setting?
The psychology table specifies experience periods, but it does not give a clear answer to every situation students face. It does not fully explain which settings qualify, whether the experience must follow the degree, or whether course internships count.
For example, do not assume that a school internship, HR role, teaching post or private counselling arrangement will count simply because the work involves psychology. Its acceptability needs to be checked against the authority’s requirements.
- Keep records of the organisation, dates, duties, hours and supervision.
- Ask whether the experience must be completed after the qualification.
- Seek written confirmation before relying on a particular placement for eligibility.
Experience should be documented clearly. A short workshop or attendance certificate should not be treated as equivalent to the required period of professional experience.
What if you already practise?
The regulations recognise that some people were providing services before the new framework. Regulation 26 refers to provisional registration for those who offered services in a recognised category on or before commencement of the Act and do not meet regular-registration criteria.
This depends on the separate provisions issued under Section 38. It is not automatic eligibility for everyone practising today, and the relevant timing is commencement of the Act — not simply publication of the 2026 Regulations. Existing practitioners should retain their qualification and work records and seek guidance on the applicable transition route.
Renewal after registration
Registration is valid for five years. Renewal requires continuing professional development (CPD):
- At least 15 hours each year and 75 hours over five years.
- No more than 50% through online mode.
- Supporting attendance certificates.
- A renewal application six months before expiry.
This is a valuable feature of the framework: professional learning continues after the first qualification. An inactive registration does not permit practice under these regulations.
Discussion